Why Is Online Behaviour So Gross Whenever Someone Dies?

We aren’t robots. Feel something and stop scrolling for a second.

Tracy Luk
7 min readJul 15, 2022
Photo by Andre Moura

When I got married, my cousin posted about it on Facebook. An old friend saw it, and the first thing he did was not congratulate me, but he called my ex-boyfriend at three in the morning to tell him.

Ew.

I mean, not to my ex, but this kind of behaviour.

The internet serves entertainment and news — combine the two and you keep nosy people in the know. They’re quick to share while they could care less about you.

But, let me tell you about a time I cared about someone I didn’t even know.

I was riding my mamachari to drop my son off at school. We arrived to see two men in suits across the entrance, standing there, observing the parents. It was unusual. After our routine reciprocal hug, high five, and I love you, I watched my son’s head bob and disappear behind the gates as he waved bye.

Then, one of the men approached me as if he were going in for a kill. He said a name. I was confused. He asked if I knew the 3-year-old girl who had passed away the day before in Hokkaido. I apologized and shook my head no.

--

--

Tracy Luk

Tokyo, Japan | INFP | Minimalist | Parent | Avid Reader | Seeker | Em Dash Lover | Never without a camera going with the flow with my kids in tow ♡